Today I remember…


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I have been writing, but it has taken other forms. Between the fourth of July and the first of October, the 50 Songs in 90 Days (50/90) takes place.

I have attempted it for five years, and completed it once, in 2010. I have no illusions of being able to complete it this year, but I enjoy the community, so I stick around.

However, that is not the reason why I am posting, as you may have guessed. Today would be my dear friend Chris’ birthday. I’m not sure what I’ll play when I play live tonight, but ‘Wherever You Are (You’re Still An Angel)’ may be somewhere in there. I suppose as long as I play with heart, and put everything I can into each song, she’ll be with me all the way.

It is a privilege to have loved, and been loved, quite so much. Of course, that love continues. Now, it’s present in that creative spark that drives me to write and share my soul with the world. I could write another song, but most of what is left to say is between Chris and I.

Chris, at the age of 15, in England. She is standing next to John Lennon's piano.

Chris, at the age of 15, in England. She is standing next to John Lennon’s piano.

May the love she gave in life be reflected back abundantly in Paradise.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement. Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

