Surprised by peace at Easter


Hi, friends.

I hope this finds you well. I am pleased to be able to say that I am feeling better than I have done at Easter for some time. I recognise that part of this is the fact that so much time has passed since the early painful days, but on the other hand, I have worked for this in a way that I would not wish on anybody.

Much of the work of this grief experience has been in understanding that ‘Death ends a life, not a relationship’ (a quote from my favourite memoir Tuesdays with Morrie) and that there can be joy in a world without, just as there is joy in a world with those we love. It is a different kind of joy, and the pain of ‘s/he would have loved that’ persists, but all it means is that we enjoy for both parties now.

In February, I wrote a new song entitled Flowers from the Cross’, which I hope to be able to share soon. With that song, I finally honour the experience I had last Easter.

Whether you celebrate Christ’s resurrection today, or you are simply celebrating another day on the planet, I wish you all the joy and peace that you need.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

