A birthday tribute [10th July 2013]


A birthday picture for Chris

Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. Chris’ birthday comes around quickly after the anniversary of her transition. I often feel as though I have nothing new to say, but then…is it really about saying something new? Or is it more simply a matter of letting them know they are still loved?

I’m not quite sure, but one thing I know is that I love her as much now as I did when she was physically present. In her absence, I have taken on board much of what she taught me, and continue to grow as a person in the light of that knowledge.

Although spirituality presents a challenge now, there is one thing I do not, cannot doubt. Somewhere Chris knows about the journey I have been on since her passing, and I hope that she would be pleased with what I have done since.

It has certainly not been an easy journey, and there have been more challenges in recent years, but I remain grateful to Chris for setting me on this path. If not for her, I would never have looked beyond this material world to find the peace and comfort I sought.

When I found my peace, I realised that she is never far. She has never been closer to me than she is since she left her body. It is perhaps the greatest tribute I can offer that I finally feel at peace, just as I know Chris is.

Bless you all, my friends, for walking with me in this journey. I don’t doubt that the ups and downs will continue, but I wanted to pause today to give thanks for Chris’ being.

According to Paramhansa Yogananda, there are two types of guru within the Hindu tradition. (Chris was a practising Hindu) One is the diksha guru, from whom one receives spiritual initiation when they take vows of renunciation. Modern life makes that kind of initiation and renunciation difficult, but there is another type of guru.

This is the siksha guru, the person responsible for awakening the desire for God in another.  Although I remain reluctant to say that I truly understand prayer, my relationship with Him is improving. (In recent times, I have dropped my ‘This is the way it should be’, and returned to ‘Thank You for making my life the way it is.’)

Anyway, I’m getting away from my topic now. All I wanted to say was a hearty ‘HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY FRIEND!’ to dear Chris.

(The all-caps is a reference to the way she wished me the same in May 2006.)

May God bless her and grant her peace.

I’d like to close with a George Harrison version of a Bob Dylan song, in honour of my dear friend. (As an aside, this is my favourite version of the song, other than George’s 1992 version. The love and friendship between the two men is clearly visible.)

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A birthday tribute [10th July 2013]

  1. A lovely tribute. And I’m glad you finally feel at peace.

  2. troy P. says:

    Beautiful Casey. Peace >.<

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks so much, Troy.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. You might want to check out the post that follows this, for audio of my performance at a local venue.

      Take care,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

