How social media has changed the way we mourn


Again, I’m somewhat late in noticing this particular piece, but it’s useful reading. I can’t say I agree with the last ‘tip’…because most people know that. Would be interested to read your thoughts, though.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How social media has changed the way we mourn

  1. troy P. says:

    Very interesting article! My only concern would be, does something like this actually serve to extend the grieving process out longer than it normally would?

    • Casey B says:

      That’s a great point, Troy. I’m assuming that by ‘this’, you’re talking about the blog? (Correct me if I’m wrong, by all means.) Or memorialization of Facebook pages. I’d not thought about it in that way, but I’m beginning to recognise that there has to be some form of end point. The bonds go on, but the sense of amputation after a significant loss cannot last…or a significant online loss, anyway.

      Another way of looking at this would be that it is ‘simply’ (or perhaps not so simply) an evolution of visiting graves, for those who cannot for reasons of geography, chiefly, but also for those who would not want to remember in such places.

      Plenty of food for thought…thanks for your insightful comment.

      Take care,

      Casey

      • troy P. says:

        Sorry Casey – I meant the facebook pages. To me, blogs are much more personal journeys than anything else (yes, even the fiction-based ones), whereas facebook is much more “public” (greater access, much less true content or effort). Make sense?

      • Casey B says:

        No worries…I’m kind of relieved! The rhyme’s in development, but there’s always been a reason for this. What you wrote makes perfect sense. There’s something vaguely exhibitionist about Facebook memorials, as sincere as they may be. I sympathise with those who have started groups on Facebook for remembrance, however. It’s a useful way to gather people to connect, but admittedly, this probably isn’t what Mark Zuckerberg had in mind.

        Take care,

        Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

