Finding a new voice


Hello, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I’m sorry posting has been sporadic lately…I just haven’t had that much to say. That may be changing, though. On Friday, I was fortunate enough to attend a local poetry reading by Anne-Marie Fyfe. It was an excellent evening, and I found it truly inspiring. The poem below is nothing to do with anything, save for the fact that it is an example of Anne-Marie’s work:

I can’t find the particular piece to which she referred, but one of her poems was written as a way of ‘parting from her mother’ after her mother’s death. That remark stayed with me, and resurfaced the following day, during a workshop Anne-Marie gave at a local garden.

Long-time readers will know almost every detail of my struggle to accept what happened to Kim, and forgive her in spite of my conflicting feelings. Following a heavenly morning of writing, we broke for lunch, during which we were advised to redraft a piece for reading around the table towards the end of the day.

The piece I chose to redraft and spruce up was inspired by Edward Hopper’s painting, Rooms By The Sea. Whilst most people would look at it and think of childhood days by the seaside, when the sea felt as though it absolutely might rush up to the windows, I looked at it and saw a metaphor for a racing mind. Amidst the swirling tides, I could take refuge in the next room, but at the same time I would deny the force of my own emotions, and remain afraid of both seas – the inner, and the outer.

However, the remarkable thing happened during the lunch break. I was working on that Hopper-inspired poem, when another came along and practically begged to be written.

In a rush of inspiration, I found myself writing the poem I never thought I would – an eloquent ‘farewell’ to Kim. So much emotion has kept how I really feel about her deeply under wraps for so long – I didn’t think I’d be looking at writing something like that for at least another few years. However, the Universe had other plans…and I am so glad it did.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

