Grieving secondary digital losses


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. As I write this, the George Harrison forum has been down for a little over six months. I know it shouldn’t be a big deal, but somehow it remains so.

I have known for some time that it is unlikely to return in whatever form it once was, but that is harder to accept than I would have thought. It is not as if I ‘need’ the content, but to know that I missed so many opportunities to back it up when I had them…it’s infuriating.

I have every single one of our MSN conversations, but most of the time, I cannot bring myself to look at them. The simple fact of there not being any more is somehow more than I can take.

It may be that this kind of loss is ‘part of the healing process’, but I can’t believe I had so many opportunities to get that stuff, and just didn’t bother.

I know I have to forgive myself and move on, but there’s something so crazy about the idea that it just isn’t there any more.

So many of my memories are bound up in that content, in some ways what I experienced is validated by it.

What I’d really like to know is whether I’m mad for feeling like this. I think I might well be over-reacting, because the truth is I had six years to do this, and I didn’t bother. It obviously didn’t mean that much.

Ramble/rant over.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grieving secondary digital losses

  1. We all take for granted the things that are always there.

  2. So sorry for another loss for you, Casey. May you find strength and joy in new friends found and enjoyed.
    Blessings!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

