Shine e-course day seven: Discovering the joy in dance


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. Today’s prompt for Shine caught me off-guard a little, because it’s not something I usually do. I more often joke that I look like a lame duck when I dance.

However, I’ve realised through today’s prompt that I need to change my relationship with dance. Usually, I only dance when I’m incredibly happy already. I have a feeling (or a suspicion) that dance could bring about that kind of happiness, based on how much I enjoyed what I did today.

I think the key is dancing without judging. If we allow ourselves to dance without feeling as though we are in some way wrong for doing so, it can open doors, as any other creative medium. For years, I never understood why drama and dance are paired on so many school syllabi, now I’m not sure they can be separated.

I always found it frustrating, because my body wouldn’t (and still won’t) do so many of the things that other people could in my classes. Now, I can and should learn to dance for myself, enjoying the freedom that it brings.

There’s definitely something about that kind of movement which has been missing from my life. I can’t help but wonder if having that back will enable me to feel a shift in other ways. Starting my day with dance enabled me to offset some of the fear brought about by an unexpected trip to the dentist, and allowed me to centre into a state of eagerness for what the day would bring.

I chose to dance to Dwight Yoakam’s ‘Take Hold of My Hand‘ first of all, because I absolutely love the song, and followed it with Dancing in the Dark and Listen to the Music – two of my other favourites.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Shine e-course and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shine e-course day seven: Discovering the joy in dance

  1. Dance can be so freeing, Casey! Glad you’ve discovered the joy of it again.
    Keep on healing, my friend!

  2. troy P. says:

    You can dance through ALL of your feelings, Casey, if you find the right songs=]

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

