Shine day five and day six, plus a Harrisonian happening


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I haven’t been a brilliant blogger lately. Last night, I did the prompt, but couldn’t blog about it because I was too tired.

Yesterday, Alana invited us to make a list of the things that make our bodies feel good, and do or book one of them. I put several run of the mill things down, like drinking enough water and getting enough sleep…neither of which I do. However, I realised during the day yesterday that my body loves going on long walks. (Probably because that’s also something I hardly ever do!)

I found it a beneficial exercise, because it taught me a lot about how my body would prefer to be treated vs. how I actually do treat it. I’ll make a point of trying to carry out some of the other things on my list as a result of the exercise. There is a first time for everything, I suppose…and it will feel good to return to life again after so long ‘away’.

Today’s prompt changed my day completely. I received it and opened it at the right time this time, for a start. Alana invited us to imagine our day, and see all of our planned activities going right. We also had to imagine our interactions with others, and the feelings we wanted to give and get from them.

I had a couple of university related goals in mind, for which I now have to forgive myself – I didn’t manage to get as much done as I wanted to, but I succeeded in finding a few articles which may be of use when I do my creative dissertation next year.

I succeeded in my other aim, however – finding joy in all of my interactions with others. It’s impossible not to be amused when one of the workers in the post room on campus looks at you and says ‘I haven’t heard your laugh for a few days!’

For all the good in my world at the moment, some little things persist. It’s all a question of attitude, but I find it very difficult to be happy about the opening of the new George Harrison memorial garden at Bhaktivedanta Manor.

It’s not that I’m unhappy about it – it was just one of those moments which seem to happen infrequently but often enough in the Beatle world…one of those moments where Chris should be here and not there. I know there is no other way that could have ended, but such things still make me a little sad, even six years on.

It’s probably because I know we would have spent a long time talking about it. Sometimes the Universe is good, sometimes it leaves something to be desired.

If you’re interested in following my progress with Shine as I post, please follow the blog via email (on the right)  to make sure that you don’t miss an update over the next 28 days. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement, Shine e-course and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

