Shine e-course day four: Comfort


Today’s prompt for the Shine e-course felt almost as though it could have been made for me. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but when I’m low, my instinct is to turn towards other people who will listen and provide perspective.

This way of comforting myself explains why I make a habit of gratitude and ensuring that people around me know that I appreciate them, and all that they do for me. It’s truly a gift to be surrounded by so many wonderful people, although I sometimes feel guilty for burdening them with my emotional crap. This isn’t a great strategy, however, as those I mostly find comfort from aren’t necessarily in my circle of people I see every day.

The thing is, I think we all need somebody we can talk to in those situations. That’s part of the problem with cyberloss, because so few people have experienced it…or are willing to talk about it. It’s almost as if society has decided it doesn’t matter.

I hope at some point that will change, because our friendships are no less real, and nor is our pain at those losses.

Anybody who reads here regularly knows about my main sources of comfort: music and writing. However, Alana invited us to think outside the box: ‘What activities bring you comfort?’, ‘What can you wear which brings you comfort?’

I alternate the pendants I wear, one being a plectrum with the Guild Guitars logo cut out of the metal, and the other a Ganesh pendant. I wear the Ganesh pendant mostly when I’m in need of re-grooving, and need to get back to a good place.

Music and poetry are also an integral part of my self-comforting, because they are so tightly woven into my life.

I’m sure there are other things which would be of benefit to me that I have yet to try. Maybe I’ll discover them through the duration of the course.

If you’re interested in following along as I post, please follow the blog via email (on the right)  to make sure that you don’t miss an update over the next 28 days. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement, Shine e-course and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shine e-course day four: Comfort

  1. troy P. says:

    Music has saved my life on a great many more than one occasion.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

