Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Dealing (with stuff)


Today, I’m linking up with Stream of Consciousness Sunday at Jana’s Thinking Place. The (optional) prompt is dealing with stuff.

SOCSunday-janasthinkingplace250

Off the top of my head, when asked how I deal with stuff (for me that means grief) I can come up with three main mechanisms. Talking with friends, playing or listening to music (counts as one) and writing poetry.

I’m pleased to have so many coping mechanisms, but I often find that playing and writing music, and to a greater extent writing poetry, have particular problems. I am never quite sure what I can reasonably release into the world without ruffling feathers. I hope to submit some poems to a literary journal next week, but they deal with something fairly personal. It involves some people who are still on the planet, as well as a friend who passed a couple of years ago.

I’m not sure what’s reasonable to publish because I haven’t got it in me to write a tribute just yet. There are certain feelings which have come out in these poems which have to come out, but I’m not sure whether they should be put out onto a world stage. (Alright, it’s only a literary journal I’m submitting to, but they’re still going to be online.)

Dealing with stuff for me happens in many forms, besides those I have already mentioned. On the rare occasions when I can quieten my mind sufficiently, I do enjoy meditating, although it tends to become rumination on the issue of the day. Usually that’s more to do with my friend who passed in 2011, the kind of stuff I am diligently trying to avoid reawakening at the moment. It’s tricky, though – dealing with our own stuff can involve treading on others’ toes, and I am not a big fan of that. I’ll do what I must, though.

___________

If you’d like to try writing your own Stream of Consciousness Sunday post, here are the guidelines:

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post (above)
  • Link up your post here
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Dealing (with stuff)

  1. Jules says:

    Wandering by from SOCS …

    As primary caregiver to a man with a failing liver, failing kidneys, one lung, and insulin-dependent diabetes … it feels as though I’m always looking for ways to cope. To deal, as it were. Thank you for sharing some great ideas.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

