Life takes faith


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. When my journey doesn’t seem to be going anywhere, I like to take a ‘wander’ through the blogosphere and see what others are writing about. Two days ago, I received my latest update from Coffee and Spellcheck, one of my favourite writing (and more) blogs.

The heart of Emily’s post (which is an absolute must-read) is the line which I’ve borrowed for the title of mine.

By extension, I would say that allowing oneself to grieve also takes faith. Although I am not excluding religious faith, I refer mostly to a non-religious faith that the grief won’t last.

I know it can be so difficult to see an end to it in the future. Still, it is the faith that this won’t last that can give us the courage to lean into it. I’m beginning to believe that getting through grief is about leaning into it, surrendering to it for a time to allow it to do its work with us, on us, and for us.

The fact that I am beginning to believe it doesn’t make it any easier to actually do it. We are hard-wired as human beings to resist anything that causes us pain. So, we push grief away and ignore it until the last moment, when it demands to be acknowledged.

I would argue that turning towards it, rather than turning away from it, takes more strength than most of us realise we have. Change becomes possible when we step into grief and allow it to work its way through us, but it’s not always easy to do that.

The far ‘easier’ route is to ignore and deny it to the point where we believe we no longer feel it. However, it remains in a way.

Living life takes faith, embracing grief takes a certain leap of faith. We must be ready to go into it for a time in order to emerge from the experience. Although we may not always recognise it, there is much to be learned from a grief journey.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life takes faith

  1. I have found that avoiding grief tends to prolong it, also. Many societies of the past created a sort of sacredness about grief, including deeper, more intense versions of some of the watered down rituals we still use today, and the sharper, stronger experience of grief helped them to leave it more cleanly. Imagine covering your mirrors and dressing in black for a year– that would obviously bring an awareness to all around you, that you were suffering a loss, and you would be reminded, and allowed, to grieve thoroughly. That versus three days off work? No contest, I think.

    • Casey B says:

      Agreed. I like your choice of expression: ‘grieve thoroughly’. It reminds me that that is exactly what I haven’t yet done. The experience on Easter Sunday was a surprise to me, but probably more necessary than I gave it credit for. Covering mirrors is an interesting thought. Presumably that’s so the grieving individual isn’t under pressure to perk up if they don’t feel like it?

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. We absolutely must lean into our grief, Casey. Sadness, just as happiness, cannot be denied. We will tie ourselves up in tangled knots if we don’t release our emotions in healthy ways.
    One of my blogging friends has dubbed this year as that of “Lean.” Leaning upon our faith, upon God, and trusting in His ways. To me, it’s the perfect image . . . .
    Love your posts, my friend. You always keep it real!

  3. Dawn Sievers says:

    Grief isn’t for the faint of heart, nor is healing from loss. And there’s no one, sure-fire, proven to work for everyone approach to get through it. In fact, what works for me one day might not work a week later, because I am a different person a week later. Each breath, each moment lived changes us. How we choose to react to a given moment, a given situation, defines us in that specific moment. Grief dictates emotions and reactions that are not pretty, and that’s scary for many to embrace, hence the tendency of many to avoid and bury said grief.

    Today, for me, I turned to the exercise of embracing gratitude and wrote it into my current blog article. It is a way of reminding myself of so much that is beautiful, and thereby, I also open my mind, my arms, my heart and everything that I am, to that indefinable thing that we call Faith.

    Healing Morning link:
    http://healingmorning.blogspot.com/2013/04/gratitude-moments-vol-iii-april-2013.html

    Namaste’,

    Dawn

    • Casey B says:

      ‘What works for me one day might not work a week later’ – a perfect way of summing this journey up. The more I attempt to ‘go with’ this journey in the light of my Easter experience, the more I find myself resisting. I’m not quite sure how to move forward, but know that I must.

      Take care, and thanks for your kind comment.

      Casey

  4. Suzy says:

    Every thought I’ve ever had on grief, perfectly explained. Beautiful post. Thanks for visiting my blog.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

