Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Blessings


SOCSunday-janasthinkingplace250

Today I’m linking up with Jana’s Stream of Consciousness Sunday prompt. Here are the ‘rules’:

Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.

Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.

Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.

Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post (below).

Link up your post here.

Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love

Today’s (completely) optional prompt: Blessings

Now that I am in the process of allowing myself to fully grieve the loss of Kim (or I would like to be, but that’s another story) I find it easier to think about what it is in my life that has truly blessed me. I am honoured to finally feel a sort of control over this grieving thing.

It is a shame it has taken me this long to reach out to others, but I am blessed to have the strength to do so, and to have others to whom I can reach out. I have companions for the journey, and that in itself makes it easier to grieve. (Or should- now I’m still my own worst enemy.)

I’ve been blessed with a mind that just will not let things go. I can do as much grief management as I like, and a week later, I will have to do some of the same stuff again. Even now, knowing all of the factors that ‘feed into’ my grief, I am having a little difficulty coming to terms with it, and allowing myself to finally feel what I need to.

Although it’s more likely that I’m just more comfortable thinking myself to death over what happened. There’s only so much analysis anybody can do, and I think I might just be taking that to new levels. I hope I can find some peace now that I have taken the decision to find support. I am lucky enough to be blessed with the strength to reach out, and the wish to move forward, even if it is hard. I don’t know how I’ll get there, or where I’m heading to- I just know that one day, I will. And I am blessed, whatever my choices.

____________________

That was my SOC Sunday post. If you want to join in, follow the rules above, and link up over at Jana’s place.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Memes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Blessings

  1. First, what a great site! I originally thought this site was about disconnecting with online friends but now I know differently. I like this idea better.
    I have not had a loss but wish you well. I am pleased to know that something like this exists.
    -r

  2. Tina says:

    Baby steps. Grieving properly sometimes takes us forward then back, then forward again. Somewhere along the path we find peace.

  3. It is a blessing to reach forward. To have the opportunity to – and to do it. Sometimes we can honor those we grief by making our lives better, richer and more of a blessing to others — because we loved those we lost.

  4. Gina says:

    I wish you peace and I’m happy you are ready to reach out for support. We all need it.

  5. casey,

    i agree. baby steps. i know this from personal experience. it’s soooo hard, though. i am here anytime you need me. hugs, sweet friend. xoxoxox

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

