Reflecting and regrouping


Hello, friends.

I hope today’s post finds you well. Now that Christmas has come and gone, and we’re on the cusp of a New Year, I’m taking a little time to reflect and regroup. It always seems to me that just when you get used to grief, it becomes a shape-shifting creature. Something new comes along to sweep the rug out and make you wonder how you arrived at this particular place and indeed where the heck you are.

Thankfully, I’m also in the middle of a fantastic book called The Phantom Tollbooth. Pure fantasy, but sometimes we all need a bit of that. However, this is not a book review blog, so I’ll just say it’s been very, very useful at a time when I needed something to drag me out of a place I was threatening to pitch a tent in.

This end of year period is made for reflecting and looking back as well as looking forward. I’ve decided to be gentle with myself in terms of New Year’s resolutions, but you’ll hear all about that in Sunday’s post. In the main, I’m intending to have a flexible plan for where I want to be with these feelings and this experience next year. Further ahead is almost impossible to plan for, as there is no way of knowing what lies ahead in this grief journey.

At least I’m lucky enough to know that I have supportive friends and family, and a wonderful community of blogging friends and blog supporters. When I think about that, it’s easier to see that no matter what might happen, I will not drown in this experience. For the most part, it feels like I’m long past the period where that was a real possibility. There are moments which are more difficult than others, but there are also ways through them.

I wish each and every one of you a time of peaceful reflection in this post-Christmas lull, and hope you will be kind to yourselves in the midst of whatever difficulties and challenges life may throw at you in the coming year. With grief, I’ve always been reminded of a classic children’s book called We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.

The group come to a muddy swamp, and the consensus is thus:

‘You can’t go over it, you can’t go under it, you’ve got to go through it.’

Remind you of anything?

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys, and a bright and peaceful New Year.

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflecting and regrouping

  1. t says:

    This could very well be your most inspiring post to date. Thank you.

    • Casey B says:

      Hey, T.

      Thanks for reading along. I’m honoured that you think so highly of that arrangement of words.

      Take care,

      Casey

      On Fri, Dec 28, 2012 at 12:13 AM, Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

