Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Promptless


Today I’m linking up with the blogging exercise Stream of Consciousness Sunday. If you want to join in, here are the rules:

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post (above). .
  • Link up your post here.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.

 

This week has been a bit challenging, as there have been a number of events beyond my control that have quickly turned me back around in my grief journey. I would never have thought that it was possible to feel alright one minute, then feel absolutely awful the next, but I suppose that’s the nature of grief.

Usually, people would say ‘Don’t get me started on the festive season’, but I’m not really one of those. I enjoy it for what it is, a chance to spend time with family and friends, and share what we mean to each other through the medium of gifts. However, what I enjoy most of all about the festive season is the chance to legitimately show my online friends what they mean to me.

I think picking out a decent card for somebody during the festive season, or at any other time of year for that matter, is a surefire way of saying ‘You mean a lot to me, and through this card I want you to know that.’ The right card and the right words, although they may be difficult to find at times are vitally important in showing what a friend or family member means to you. So, I spent time writing ecards to small groups of online friends. The more I write, the more I realise I need to write, so it’s an ongoing process. It’s an absolute blessing to have this technology now which allows us to send cards across many hundreds and thousands of miles for free. They’re a definite bonus in this day and age. I didn’t expect this to turn into a rant on the importance of e-cards and those kinds of tech.

Well- that time I was interrupted by the bell, rather than saved.

Hoping you are all finding a little joy in the approach to Christmas.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Promptless

  1. catecumen says:

    I will try this a little later today.

  2. I definitely like the idea of e-card. For sure, cards can be a great way to express your appreciation and love for someone and to wish them a happy holiday. I am really bad at buying and then mailing out cards but sending an e-card seems like a great alternative and also better for the environment! 🙂

  3. a.eye says:

    Neat idea! I should do this, too. Showing appreciation is a great thing to do at any time of the year.

  4. That is one of the wonderful things about this new cyber world. We are able to stay connected with those we love like never before. We can send them a smile in a few minutes rather than a few days with the regular mail.

  5. I should do the same—send out e-cards. I never think to do this, but you’re right about it. And I didn’t even get my act together enough to do REAL cards, so…thanks for sharing these ideas.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

