Sharing something beautiful and heartfelt…


Dear friends,

Today is a particularly special day for me, as I am sharing something written by another member of our community. As you may know, last week marked the second anniversary of my starting the blog. After reading that post, Tara Windwalker emailed me with something she had written. That was what I originally wanted to share on Sunday, but I felt I had to wait until she had given her permission. I found what she wrote a great comfort, and hope that it may provide some comfort to you. Without further ado, here is Tara’s piece.

Cyberfriends … not offline … just away

 

 

They say, “friends find a way to your door”.  I say, “friends find a way to your inner most Being”.  Thoughts don’t have physical distances.  Feelings don’t care about physical locations.

 

All that matters, is that when I knocked, you answered.  When you knocked, I answered.  We became friends.

 

My cyberfriend, you are as dear to me as family.  Maybe, even more, because you truly know me.  You took time to understand me. You took time to say “Are you ok?”  You gave me acceptance. You let me be me.  You made me feel worthwhile.  You graced my life. You gave me wisdom and made me laugh.  You are not gone.  I can feel your spirit and energy.   Before you left, you knocked once more.  I couldn’t hear, so you left a message that I could understand, with my heart.

 

The message was: “My cyberfriend, my friend, all emails have ceased.

We will find a way to communicate.  Don’t you worry about that, because

I have lots to say and to show you.  You graced my life, too. You gave me

wisdom, too, and you, definitely, made me laugh.  You are as dear to me

as family.  Maybe, even more, because you truly know me.  I can’t email

you, but, oh wow, can I do magical things now!  And, I’m free to be me.

My friend, I miss you. I grieve for you, too. I would rather you smile

and giggle, though. I would rather you swallow and say, “Ok, I’m going to live”.

I remember the way back to you. I can turn on lights, can’t I?  Let me fly.

And you fly, too. Be the best that you can be. Let our friendship be as it is.

If you let it be as it is, it can grow and blossom.  My cyberfriend, I love you.

My dear friend, don’t ever think that I have forgotten you”.

 

I love you, too.  I will learn to let it be as it is.  My cyberfriend, my dear friend, you go on and fly.  Enjoy the delights as you journey the Forever Rainbow.  Tell me all about it, when I’m ready.  I will try to be the best that I can be.  I’m still giggling over the things you said, did, and are doing now.

 

And, you whispered, “So am I, my dear cyberfriend.  I’m giggling over

the things you said, did, and are still doing.  I am not gone.  I’m not

even offline. I’m just away.  … hugs, my friend …” – Tara Windwalker

 

It’s simple, and beautiful…but I think that’s what makes it such a comfort. I’ve never read anything quite like it before, specifically for ‘us’, I mean. Tara also made an image of perhaps the most poignant part of the piece.

Tara Windwalker's blogiversary gift

I hope you find it as useful as I did.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

ncblogsig

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sharing something beautiful and heartfelt…

  1. I’m happy that what I wrote helped you. I think those are words that we might hear from a loved one. I almost feel like I channeled the passages because after I wrote them, I said “wow, how nice”. I love the part about not thinking of a loved one as gone (which seems so final). “I’m just away” feels more comforting. hugs …

    • Casey B says:

      Dear Tara,

      I have no doubt that you received them and passed them on. Such beauty as that can only be channelled. I am honoured and pleased that you chose to share it with me, so that I could share it with everybody. Yes, that part about not thinking of a loved one as gone is perfect…sums up the way I have always felt about Chris. It’s far more comforting than thinking of the finality of ‘death’.

      Take care, with love and *hugs*,

      Casey

  2. t says:

    That was simply beautiful.

  3. catecumen says:

    Thank you. This is perfect.

  4. catecumen says:

    Reblogged this on Advent Meditations 2012 and commented:
    Sharing this from Navigating Cyberloss even though it is off-topic because it is just that good.

  5. Louise says:

    That’s what a cyberfriend’s worth. Inspiring post!

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you, Louise.

      Some people don’t get it, but there are many who are now starting to…and more still who have always understood. There is no real difference between our virtual friendships and our close personal friendships, just the fact that we don’t meet our virtual friends for coffee every day. (Or maybe we do…just not in the actual realm.)

      Take care,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

