Musical surprises and sustenance


Hi, friends.

Hope this finds you well. Not much of a post today, and more of a mix or mess of ideas. An email from Amazon dropped in my inbox this morning, advertising an offer on CDs. I was intrigued by a title called ‘Mercyland: Hymns for the rest of us’, and listened to a couple of samples, before finding some full tracks on Soundcloud.

My favourite of these was a song by Buddy Miller called ‘I Believe in You’ :

The lyrics speak directly of a very real spiritual struggle, which is another of the little ‘joys’ of this grief journey. Or it has been for me, luckily I’ve begun to find my way back as I’ve written before.

I believe in you
Though it’s hard to see
Any reason why You should believe in me
I believe in You though I’ve blocked the rays
Of the guiding light you sent my way

Miller, B. ‘I Believe In You’ from Mercyland: Hymns for the Rest of Us © Mercyland Records, November 2012

Also, it might just be me, but I think grief might just be becoming less of a taboo in the news. Thanks to Cath Duncan of Remembering for Good I found this article in the online edition of The Guardian, my favourite English newspaper.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/nov/25/grief-mourning-psychology-customs?cat=science&type=article

Although there’s little practical advice in it, I found the read about other mourning customs very interesting. I’d be interested in seeing the film, too. I think the fact that the media are talking about grief as a subject of academic study could signal the beginning of a wider understanding of unorthodox forms of loss.

Perhaps it’s wishful thinking, but I know it can’t do any harm in terms of perceptions of grief.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musical surprises and sustenance

  1. Jessica says:

    I think slowly more and more people are starting to realize that people need to grieve in their own ways and overcome their grief in their own time. Many can be very judgmental when others are still grieving past a period of “expectancy”..and I find such people completely lacking empathy. Unfortunately, oftentimes they won’t be able to realize that for themselves until they are put into a similar scenario.

  2. Casey, I absolutely loved this song! It does speak so much to our faith struggle and spiritual growth, yet is uplifting, too.
    And, I am full agreement with what Jessica posted – people all grieve in their own way and we need to respect that, not hurrying them or wondering why those tears keep coming.
    Blessings!

    • Casey B says:

      Hey, Martha.

      Thanks for your comment. So many times we either try to hurry ourselves through a grief experience, or are hurried by others. I often wish people had a little more empathy, but ’til it happens to them, they’re not going to. Glad you liked the song.

      Take care. Blessings,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

