Thanksgiving in grief


Hi, friends.

I know that today in the US is Thanksgiving, a holiday we don’t celebrate in England. I feel very strongly that wherever we are on the globe, we should all take a bit of time to be grateful. In that spirit, and in no particular order, here are the things I have been and am grateful for in this grief journey:

  • Family- need I say more?
  • Friends – they too have held me up on this path.
  • Music – when I thought I had lost my faith in God, the songs I played gave me something to hang on to.
  • Faith – returning to a spiritual way of seeing the world lifted a little of the weight from my shoulders.
  • Creativity – although I had thought for a while that it had left through the back door, its return gave me something to celebrate
  • Nature – there are many small and wonderful things in nature that I had never noticed before. Noticing them has now become part of my gratitude practice

I could go on, but this is just a short list. My point is that even in the midst of grief, if we can find something to hang on to, we can keep ourselves afloat even when we feel we’re closer to drowning than swimming.

What are you grateful for in your journey? Please feel free to share in the comments.

In other news…one of my poems was published this week in my university’s writing journal. Please contact me through email or the contact form on the blog if you would like to see it.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys, and to those who celebrate, a very Happy Thanksgiving.

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanksgiving in grief

  1. Such a beautiful post, Casey. Being thankful for and holding on to what gives us hope does, indeed, help us through the grieving process.
    Blessings!

  2. tumultuousjourney says:

    beautiful and sweet. Prayers as always for you.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

