Honouring the Day of the Dead for our departed online friends


Hi, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. This will be a two part post, as I intend to share what I have done to honour this chiefly Mexican and American celebration tomorrow. What attracted me to the Day of the Dead (Día de los Muertos in Spanish) is the idea that it is not exclusive. All can take part and honour those who have gone before, in whatever way feels comfortable to them.

Traditionally, Day of the Dead celebrations involve the building of an ofrenda or altar, but as I will share tomorrow, that’s only one way. Writing music or poetry, or simply spending time writing or drawing in a journal are equally effective ways of participating in rituals surrounding the Day of the Dead.

Of course, we remember all year round, but I think it can be useful to take part in established ritual, as it legitimizes our grief experience. It’s always helpful to spend time remembering and reconnecting. Sometimes it can be challenging, but it’s worthwhile to at least consider the possibility.

Our online friendships are vital in making us who we are in many ways. There is no way of telling who we would be without our interactions with online friends. Those who have never experienced online friendship can only understand it within their experience. It’s only on rare occasions that their understanding comes close. All we ask, of course, is that our friends are recognised alongside other loved ones, their friendship being no less valuable just because it was virtual. Virtual does not mean shallow- as we all know, online friendship can be very deep, close and personal. Once a bond is created with an online friend, it never goes away.

With two days to go, I’d like to invite you to participate in an event which encourages celebration of our departed loved ones in a virtual community. I intend to share my offering with them, and with you, tomorrow.

What do you do to remember? Please feel free to leave a comment. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Honouring the Day of the Dead for our departed online friends

  1. i couldn’t agree more that it takes someone who also experienced a deep online friendship with someone in order to appreciate friendships that are built online. some people i know would tell me that the so-called friends who leave comments on my blog are only there to flatter me and that’s all. while that may be true for some people as we know it, i am able to find those who truly care and there are really those who took care of me. i really felt their concern and love for me, casey. and God forbid, if one of them dies, a huge part of me will also die.

    take care always and God bless ❤ 🙂

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, Irene.

      I know exactly what you mean about feeling their love and concern. I found it strange that Chris would always ask whether I was alright…surely that should’ve been the furthest thing from her mind. But that wasn’t the kind of person she was.

      You take care too- God bless,

      Casey

      • nikky44 says:

        Thank you for this beautiful post Casey!! You know how important my online friends are to me!

      • Casey B says:

        My dear Nikky,

        It is my pleasure to share my thoughts with you and the many others who visit this blog. I am honoured that you find my words ‘beautiful’.

        Take care, my friend.

        Casey

        On Mon, Nov 5, 2012 at 8:43 PM, Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your

    • nikky44 says:

      You’re so right Irene ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. We just celebrated All Saint’s Day at church where we celebrate the lives of those who have gone to be with the Lord in the past year. It is always such a touching and beautiful part of our service . . .
    Blessings, Casey!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

