Respite


Hello, my friends.

I hope this post finds you well. Just lately, as you may be able to tell, I’ve been at a loss for what to write here. The thing about having a blog about grief is that it often doesn’t seem as though there’s room to discuss the joy that comes in between the waves.

In spite of the difficulty of dealing with Chris’ passing, a certain amount of positivity has come out of that challenging event, and a joyful story that can be shared with anyone who’ll listen.

In between the peaks and troughs of grief, I find it difficult to know what I can offer here. This place is devoted to honouring those online friends we’ve known and lost, and when one foot in front of the other seems to be working well for me, I struggle with writing here.

I suppose that’s a sign that time is doing its work, and ‘healing’, much as I believe that it’s not directly time that heals. What’s happened between Chris’ death and the present day is what’s helped me to come to terms. (A phrase which is probably preferable to ‘healing’, because that gives the impression that grief is something like a conventional wound or common cold.)

Of course, these peaks and troughs of grief could be the brain’s way of saying ‘Hey, look. I can’t deal with this 24/7. You need a break, so I can recharge.’ So, in the meantime, I’d like to know what you would like future Navigating Cyberloss posts to focus on. I’m game for writing what you’d like to read, as I’m sure you’ve read my story and day-to-day ramblings quite enough.

I’ll continue to share what I feel might be pertinent information, and I want to focus more on making this a community for people, as opposed to my soap box. Please feel free to chime in, if there’s anything you would like to know more about, or perhaps you’ve had an experience you’d like to share. I’m open to guest posts on any subject relating to cyberloss: perhaps a sharing of your story, or a simple tribute. This place is for all of us.

 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Respite

  1. Hi, Casey!
    Have you thought about keeping this blog as it is, but starting a new one where you write on other subjects? I did that just recently when I started “Moments and Musings”, and I have found it refreshing to simply write about whatever is on my heart and mind. As you said, YOU need time to recharge – maybe, something like a new blog would do the trick!
    Blessings!

    • Casey B says:

      Hey, Martha.

      Thanks for your comment. At some point, I’d love to have an outlet for other things, but I don’t think I could actively maintain two blogs at the moment. University takes up a lot of my time, and it’s only by grace and good timetabling that I’m able to maintain this ‘schedule’. It’s an interesting conundrum, though. I’d really like to centralise my own writing. I hope you have a great day.

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. t says:

    We know so much about Chris, write now about you.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

