Crossing paths


 

English: Paths crossing on top of Butser

English: Paths crossing on top of Butser (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

Hi, friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This year seems to be a year of revelations for me. Just lately I have realised yet again how very lucky I am to have known Chris, and had the opportunity to share parts of my life with her.

 

 

 

I know that the events could have happened in any number of other ways, but they didn’t…and as difficult as it undoubtedly was, and is to cope with the loss of Chris, I am grateful for every moment we shared, and those teaching moments that still seem to happen now and then.

 

 

 

Each one of those, and every white feather I see, prompts me to stop and give thanks for a friendship that should have lasted a lifetime, and will…it’s just that one of us isn’t around in the usual sense. I’ve begun to enjoy telling people about Chris, and looking at the expressions on their faces. Luckily, most of the people I have met and spoken to about the nature of our friendship have been understanding.

 

 

 

The fact that I can finally share the story and not feel as though I need to lie down in a dark room for two days afterwards is surely progress. As I’ve written before, I firmly believe that sharing the story of our online friendships, and the conventional or unconventional beginnings is one way in which our friends live on through us.

 

 

 

I smile to myself as I tell Chris’ story, and recognise all of the little ways in which she influenced my life. It has all come to one thing – I am a better person because of her influence. I realise that more now than ever, because I have finally emerged from the impossible, impenetrable cave of grief. I have stopped being a spectator in my life, and now seek to help others by sharing the experiences I have on my journey with this unusual experience of loss.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d love to know how your online friendships began, or about any memorable moments. If you’re comfortable, please feel free to share in the comments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

 

 

 

blog signature - 'Casey B'

 

 

 

PS: Because this post is ‘late’, the next post will be on Sunday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crossing paths

  1. cherubim97 says:

    I’ve had many online friendships and relationships (not in the romantic sense of the word). Some are still strong and healthy, while others have broken up. I met my best of friends online as well. I can’t say I prefer online over offline, because offline is always more intriguing and fulfilling, I think. I’m still grateful for social networks, though!

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks for your comment, Dave.

      I agree that offline relationships can be more fulfilling in the traditional sense, but our online friendships have their own merits.

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. I am grateful for social networking and from it the friendships that have formed… I think regardless of how relationships are formed that once formed they are special in there own way…

    The part that stood out most for me was this: “The fact that I can finally share the story and not feel as though I need to lie down in a dark room for two days afterwards is surely progress….” PROGRESS indeed! I Ooooh so relate!

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks, Amy.

      I love your comment, and am pleased that you feel online relationships are no less important for the way they are formed. It’s also interesting that you can relate to my experience of finally being able to share the story. Thanks for stopping by.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. That you can more freely share your story, Casey, shows that you are healing and remembering Chris with love, not just grief. I am so grateful for my online friends and have been blessed to have found some soul-mates along the way.
    Blessings to you!

  4. Bongo says:

    You know sometimes I forget…I don’t forget the friend ..but i forget what she taught me and how much I still love her…Thank you for reminding me….As always…XOXOXOXOXO

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you for sharing that, Bonnie. I have the same feelings sometimes…then I remember that Chris just wouldn’t want that. She’d end up challenging me to remember the things I learned from her more than her, I reckon. 🙂 Mind you, how we remember them is our decision.

      Take care, my friend.

      Casey
      xoxo

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

