Believing in Heaven after cyberloss


This post is a response to this month’s Trauma2Art topic, which asks whether readers believe in Heaven. Lauren Muscarella has recently relaunched the site. It’s a privilege to work with her, and I’m sure the site would be of interest to many of you. 

For me, belief in Heaven has been a challenge and a comfort in equal measure at times. It’s been a challenge because I couldn’t reconcile Kim’s passing with the existence of a loving deity…but on the other hand, I have to believe that there’s more than a vague chance Chris and I will be reunited somewhere out there, at some time.

Believing in Heaven, without necessarily throwing a God into the equation, has been a great comfort to me. Since I resolved to let go of some of my animosity towards certain people, some of the anger…I am a lot happier in myself.

The choice to believe in Heaven isn’t always easy, and it can be as much of a challenge to allow oneself to make it, but it may be a profound comfort at a time when little else seems to make sense. If anything, I’m heartened by the fact that my belief in heaven means I notice the little things more.

There’s joy in the little moments where I see a white feather on the ground, or on rare occasions at eye level, and pause to say hello to her…thankful that she’d let me know she’s OK. We’ve had enough rain, but I’ve not seen a rainbow for a while…I’ll take the signs I can get, though.

What do you think about Heaven? Is it a comfort to have such a belief, or does it make the journey more challenging? 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Believing in Heaven after cyberloss

  1. Hi Casey. 🙂 Without my faith in heaven, I am nothing more than an earthly being which exists. But faith in heaven tells me that there is something much bigger and better in store for us when we leave this world. When my grandmother died, I grieved and got depressed because she is no longer with us. But believing that someday I will see her again tells me that goodbye is really not forever and that gave me comfort and had me looking forward to that day when we will be together again. It also eased the pain I felt when I saw her suffering when she was still alive, knowing that in heaven, people suffer no longer, therefore, my grandmother who lived a miserable life on earth is in a happier, much better place. Heaven gives meaning to everything that happens in life. It reminds me of how temporary life here on earth is and that only means that we don’t truly belong here, but we belong there, which is a far better place than where we are now. ❤ 🙂

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Irene.

      Thank you so much for your comment. I apologise for the lateness of my reply. Everything you’ve said here really gets to the heart of the matter, and I love ‘Heaven gives meaning to everything that happens in life’- so true. I’m blessed to be able to realise the truth of that again, as I rediscover my faith and my path in this life.

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. Heaven is very, very real for me, Casey. I believe that we are souls that have bodies here on earth, but heaven is our home for eternity.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Blessings!

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Martha. It’s a pleasure to share thoughts with a community such as this. I agree with your thinking, after all, that’s the only way we can explain those little nudges. 🙂

      Blessings!

      Casey

  3. t says:

    I had difficulty with Heaven until I read CS Lewis’ take on it. He said (much better than I) something to the effect that once there, you’ll realize that this life wasn’t real – this life was the dream. Heaven is real, and this life is where our minds ready themselves for it.

  4. melissa says:

    I believe in God. I believe in Heaven. I believe in love and mercy most of all. I believe that God has better plans for each one of us and that we are destined to return back to our Source…

  5. nikky44 says:

    Heaven exists. I need to believe it does ❤

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

