SOC Sunday: Freewriting


Although I’ve done my customary two posts this week, I don’t feel like my post on Friday actually counted, because that was a thanks to those who’ve viewed the blog and brought it to where it is today. So, I’m linking up with Jana from Jana’s Thinking Place today for Stream of Consciousness Sunday. This week, there’s no prompt, so I’m freewriting for five minutes.

________

Freewriting today has me thinking on the meaning of courage. My own definition of courage has changed slightly over the past five years, due to experiences I’ve had and what I’ve watched others go through from a distance. It takes courage to live through serious illness, and it takes courage to watch somebody go through that, even from a distance. So far, I’ve been lucky…most of my exposure to those things has been through online friendships, but there are two different types of courage. I am continually inspired by the courage of my friend Chris, who swore that she wouldn’t accept defeat throughout the entirety of her illness. My friend Kim taught me a lot about a different kind of courage. That kind of courage is what it takes to respect another’s wishes and decisions…even though it’s possible to see a choice where there wasn’t one. I’m not sure whether I’m all the way there in terms of Kim’s lessons in courage, but Chris’ lessons in courage help me to this day in dealing with the fallout from Kim’s passing. There are things that I will never understand, but I’m coming to a point where that’s OK. It’s not something that I would have been able to influence, at least not in any direct way. Prayer is still a challenge, more ‘This is what I think should happen, please make it so’, than ‘Thy will be done’, but I hope to get there at some point in the not too distant future.

_________________________________________

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post (in the sidebar).

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys, 

blog signature - 'Casey B'

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOC Sunday: Freewriting

  1. This is great. I love the end… it’s hard to pray for “thy will to be done” but we should all try.

  2. melissa says:

    I think you’re doing well Casey…piano piano…

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

