Practising gratitude after cyberloss


Hi, friends.

Following my abrupt shift in perspective last Sunday, I’ve been considering what I’m grateful for as a result of Chris’ presence in my life. I know it’s not usually my way to offer ‘tips’ for dealing with this, as nobody can really instruct anybody else on how they should travel their path, but this is just a suggestion.

When we are newly bereaved of our friends, it can often be hard to see past the pain and remember what they brought to our lives. It’s difficult, but they (and we) are so much more than the way they left the world. (I’m still working on realising that, so feel free to dress down on that one.)

I’m grateful for the conversations Chris and I were able to have about George, which spurred my interest in spiritual things. I know I wasn’t the best of students, but I’m hopefully continuing to learn and developing a better understanding.

Through Chris, I also discovered my passion for teaching. Granted, I didn’t have to teach her much – just provided the spark to help her get back into playing guitar. To me, though, helping her get back into playing guitar was part of doing the best I could to help her generally. I couldn’t do any more than I did. Beyond that, I think Chris knew I love(d) her…and I hope that was enough.

I continue to practise the lessons she taught through her life and example, although I had walked away for a time. I suppose I had to wander for a while to find my way back. Thankfully, I have done. It’s a blessing to be feeling good again.

I’d love to hear what you’re grateful for about your friendships, whether online or offline. Now I’ve been thinking about what I’m grateful for in terms of what I learned from Chris, and what we shared, I can begin to notice those qualities in other friendships. Maybe that will also help you. I look forward to reading your comments and sharing in your stories. It’s a blessing to walk with you on this journey. 

I’d also like to thank those who have come to visit this place and brought about the milestone of 9,800 views. I didn’t imagine that was possible when I first started.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Practising gratitude after cyberloss

  1. melissa says:

    I’m sure it isn’t the number of years spent together…but I wish I have come to know her more deeply.

    What we share mostly about is our daily struggles in life and the decisions we make in order to grow. We both have ways to communicate through each other ~ I usually pour my heart out through music and she, through her poetry.

    Perhaps, one of the most beautiful things I am grateful for aside from our friendship is the gift of life she has shared ~ her family and her memories. I will always remember her smiling face and the storms we have braved together.

    I pray that God will grant her eternal rest and peace.

    Thanks for sharing this post Casey 🙂

    • Casey B says:

      Hey, Melissa.

      I share your feeling about wishing you’d come to know them more. It’s beautiful that you shared your music and poetry together. ‘I will always remember her smiling face and the storms we have braved together.’…there is truth in that statement. Friendship and relationships are about more than braving storms, but ultimately, we help each other through them anyway. ‘Coping with the stones in the road’, as Chris once called it.

      Thank you for sharing.

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. t says:

    I’m grateful for my friends from my Marine Corps days (formerly offline, and now on), is that with them, there is never any need to act any different from who I truly know myself to be. They accept me as I am, versus as I should be.

    • Casey B says:

      Hey, T.

      Thanks for sharing that. It’s a blessing of true friendship that we can be who we really want to be with our friends, and they don’t force us to be any other way.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. G Angela says:

    I am grateful for the gift of my son, who died of bronchal pneumonia,he was seven years, and a down syndrome child. I have a lot of learnings from him, he was full of love, love so pure , that it changed me totally in to a new person. I cherish the gifts he has given me, I have become more patient, because of him, I learnt what unconditional love means to me, he has given me a new definition of beauty, love, care success, meaning and fulfillment in my life.

    I am sad, and I do miss him a lot, for even though he had delayed speech, his communication was perfect, I miss his hugs, kisses and his innocent smile, he was full of life, he constantly reminded me to be happy ! he loved music and dance, and the only way he could communicate was through his gestures. he brought in a lot of new friends into my life, and he challenged me to love unconditionally, having him in my life was a blessing – he was an angel in my life, and today, he though he is no more, i still experience his powerful presence, his name was Mario Emmanuel, I am glad that he chose me to be his mom, as i continue my journey carrying him in my heart, i am also helping my husband and daughter to cope with this grief, for it has been quite difficult for them to accept his loss. I thank you for this space, you offered to express my grief, Thanks for this post !

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you for reading, G, and also for sharing Mario with us. It is a pleasure to read of your love for your son and his influence on your life. I hope you will continue to journey in peace. 🙂

      Take care,

      Casey

  4. The beauty of friendship is that each person brings a very different aspect of themselves in to your life – and it is for us to know what it is and treasure that gift.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

