Perspective


Hi, friends.

I logged on to the George Harrison messageboard today, not expecting to find anything revolutionary. The place is a bit of a ghost town these days. Much to my surprise, there was some discussion going on about a ‘lost’ Harrison track. Turns out, it’s not a new track, but a cut by the duo Lon and Derrek Van Eaton on which Harrison sings backing vocals with some other musical luminaries.

My reaction to ‘new’ George material has changed over the past five years. It used to send me into a space I didn’t particularly want to inhabit, full of sadness and regret. Then it changed into more plain irritation that something new had come out that Chris would not hear.

So, I read about this new song (‘Sweet Music‘) reluctantly. I expected one or the other of those reactions. The pathos in the lyric added to the poignancy of the moment, but I found myself able to listen to the song and actually enjoy it in a way I haven’t been able to for about five years. Mixed blessing, sweet healing. It doesn’t mean I’ll ever forget, just that I can listen to future releases and smile to myself, rather than wincing. That’s the kind of tribute Chris deserves…

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

 

 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Perspective

  1. GLEN LORD says:

    I love to see the hope in your growth.

  2. Beautiful song, but wasn’t all of George’s music like that. And I’m glad you’re healing slowly and beautifully♥

    • Casey B says:

      I’m biased, but I have to agree. 🙂 George’s music always showed his soul, which was probably why it is still so beautiful. Indeed…it’s a pleasure to be where I am right now, in comparison with where I have been in the past. Either I’m letting go of it, or it’s letting go of me. Not sure which, but I’m happy either way.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. Beautiful realizations Casey…. it’s a process. We go back over and over something, someone…until finally the emotions we’ve attached to it/him.her slowly changes… just like what St. Francis said ~ ‘ that which had seemed to me bitter had become sweet and easy…’

    I’m not a huge George Harrison fan but my brother is … his lyrics became more profound throughout the years and the one I just listened to is truly ‘Sweet Music’…Thanks for sharing that 🙂

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

