Online mourning in the news


Hi, friends.

I just found this on Twitter, and I thought I’d share.

Changing the way we live, changing the way we live on

It’s good to see that people are taking notice of how the way in which we remember people is changing. It will probably be a while before the matter of how we cope with the death of somebody we’ve only ever known online comes up for discussion publicly. However, reading articles and watching videos like this gives me hope that the discussion will happen sooner rather than later.

Personally, I don’t use Facebook as my main avenue to remember Chris, because she didn’t use it, and so there’s no point for me. However, I use it to keep in touch with people who also knew her, and it’s vital in that way.

Have you used social media to memorialise in any way? What did you find most helpful? Feel free to share in the comments. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature - 'Casey B'

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement, In the news and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Online mourning in the news

  1. melissa says:

    I didn’t do it openly like posting it on my FB wall or in any of the groups but I did share my love to all of my most intimate friends… The music video (http://youtu.be/YvBKHram3rw) I did using Sulekha Rawat’s poetry and Jim Brandano’s images was meant for all the loved ones we lost…I never thought I’ll be dedicating it also to my soul sis one day…

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Melissa.

      Thank you for sharing this beautiful video and poem. *hugs* I think that could be the most difficult thing about cyberloss. With ‘real world’ loss, we can often have time to come to terms with an impending loss, but in the virtual world, we are denied it. Thus, we arguably experience more of a shock when it does actually happen. It is truly an honour that you have shared this with us. I’m sure your ‘soul sis’ loves it.

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. nikky44 says:

    I find it very difficult to talk about someone I lost, whether it is a friend or a family member. I tend to isolate myself, to wear a mask that says I don’t care, i’m OK but inside my heart all I feel is pain. My mum died 10 years ago and I find it hard to even mention her name

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

