A possible new addition to the blog


Dear friends,

I am writing to ask your opinion on an addition to the blog. Working on the book today, I came up with the idea of adding a new page. It would provide a password-protected space where we could share memories and stories of our online friends, and in so doing, share them with people who understand.

I have written before about my experience of setting up a personal archive of conversations that Chris and I had, and the emails we exchanged. I found it an important part of preserving her memory, and didn’t want to wait. Some may not feel ready to begin such a project, so it is my hope that we can create a communal archive to share in each others’ memories of dear friends.

Now, more than ever, I can smile at memories of Chris which come out of nowhere, but sharing them makes me smile more. When somebody else knows about a memory it becomes more real, I think, in our own minds.

For now, I would appreciate your thoughts on this. Please feel free to leave a comment or use the Contact form.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

Casey B

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Grief Loss and Bereavement, memories, online friendship, online loss, online loss issues, sharing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A possible new addition to the blog

  1. Honestly, I don’t like logging in or having more passwords to keep track of. If I have to log in to leave a comment, generally i don’t. Maybe it’s just me though! I do like sharing memories!

  2. Sure. Why not, Casey. You have nothing to lose I’m trying it out. Go with your gut.

  3. Ps. You are following me. I on WP, right? I’m feeling a litttle lonely here, you know, new kid on the block….

  4. melissa says:

    I think sharing memories to keep a person alive would be okay… this idea works fine with me πŸ™‚

  5. Sounds like a great idea, Casey. Can you do that on WP.com though?

    • Casey B says:

      It should be possible. I’m not sure whether the space ought to be password protected to protect the content, or whether it’s enough that people would have to comment. Stuff to ponder on, I suppose. πŸ™‚

      Take care,

      Casey

  6. I’m sure you will work it out to be something wonderful, Casey.

  7. nikky44 says:

    I loved the idea ❀

  8. galenpearl says:

    Like someone said above, I’m not likely to take extra steps. On the other hand, I think some people would feel safer if the forum was private. When something is painful to write about, creating a safe environment is paramount.

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks, Galen.

      I appreciate your honesty on the subject. Indeed, I recognise the importance of creating a safe environment, which is why I initially posited the idea of having it password protected.

      I’m not quite sure what to do on that front, as there seems to be a split, but I think I might keep it publicly viewable, unless there’s a strong reason not to.

      Take care,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

