The Reader Appreciation Award


Nikky44 recently nominated me for the Reader Appreciation Award. It was a pleasant surprise, so thanks, Nikky. 😉
Here’s what I have to do!
1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
2. Answer these 10 questions, below, for fun if you want to.
3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.
4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.
The questions
What is your favorite colour?
I have to say purple. It brings me to a place of calm and peace, where life and grief are that much easier to walk with (although I admit that I have Grief well trained by now…a sharp mental “Enough!” will usually stop it in its tracks.)
What is your favorite animal?
My favourite domestic animal is the dog – I have received much affection from family and friends’ canines over the years, and I always enjoy throwing a ball or stick for them. My favourite wild animal is the fox- I recently saw my first wild one, and it was quite an experience. 🙂
What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?
Orange juice and lemonade all the way. So refreshing in the summer, and such a treat at any time.Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?
I prefer Facebook, because it permits more personal conversations. 140 characters is never enough.

What is your favorite pattern?

Anything checked or plaid.

Do you prefer giving or getting presents?

I prefer giving presents to see the expressions on people’s faces. It is wonderful to be able to give something and feel satisfied that you have provided something the recipient will enjoy and hopefully cherish.

What is your favorite number?

My favourite number is 7 – I’m not sure why. Strangely, I’ve noticed a pattern in my musical tastes – on most of the albums I like, I adore the seventh track. The only exception is my favourite artist’s final album. George Harrison’s Brainwashed features a track called ‘Stuck Inside a Cloud’ in that position…and it’s a really heart-rending song.

What is your favorite day of the week?

At the moment, my favourite day of the week is Tuesday, when I can devote the most time  to the book project. I tend to be most productive when there are no distractions.

What is your favorite flower?
Most definitely the gardenia…they are absolutely beautiful, and they smell divine.
What is your passion? 
My passion is sharing my truth with other people, through the work I do with this blog, to encourage people to talk about the death of online friends. There is a common perception that the loss is lesser, but this is not the case.
The other blogs
The Nominees listed below may choose to not participate in this award process. Each one is a blogger whose work has inspired me in some way. In keeping with my favourite number, I have chosen 7 bloggers. 
Emily’s writing first came to my attention through a splendid post which was syndicated on the BlogHer network. She has been a source of support for me when I wasn’t sure where I was going with the blog.
sonofwalt at The Dad Poet
Poetry, and awesome poetry at that. This man recorded videos every day throughout April of himself reading some very, very good poetry.
TangledLou at Periphery
I don’t remember how I first came across Lou’s blog, but I know that it resonated with me, and has continued to do so. I wanted to do something to demonstrate my respect for her, and this award provides that opportunity.
Erin writes frequently and provocatively about writing. By provocatively, I mean she ‘provokes’ me to get up and do some. Her resounding message that everybody has a story worth hearing is one that has echoed in my mind since I first came across her work.
I discovered Lance’s work through Erin Margolin. On his blog he shares updates on two long pieces of writing in progress, and the awesome 100 word song meme. (There is a pre-picked song each week, and bloggers must respond in 100 words.)
Irene was one of a group of people I discovered when I was invited to join a private Facebook blogging community. A little bit of cuteness never hurt anybody, and with two dogs, including a new puppy called Blaine, Irene has a lot of cuteness in her life right now.
Corinne at Everyday Gyaan
Since I discovered her blog two years ago, Corinne’s posts have never failed to make me smile and think about how I can improve my own life. For that reason, I want to recognise her with this award.
About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in awards, blog community, memories, original-stuff, others' work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Reader Appreciation Award

  1. Emily says:

    So that’s how we met, lol, I never knew. 😉 You are way too kind! Thanks for the award! ❤

  2. sonofwalt says:

    You are such a sweetheart. Thank you so much for thinking of me.

  3. We have some things in common…my favorite number is 7 too 🙂 (I was born on 7/7) I also prefer fb over twitter for the same reasons…FB definitely encourages more quality conversations and is more personal.

    Congratulations on your nomination! 🙂

  4. Lance says:

    thank you casey…i’m honored

  5. Irene says:

    Aww Casey, what a lovely surprise! I’m so glad the cuteness you find in my blog amuses you somehow! 🙂

    Congratulations for the award! And more power to your blog and may it touch many more lives. God bless 🙂

  6. Nikky44 says:

    Congratulations Casey. I love your Blog very much. I Love that you share experience and thoughts about Cyberloss as it is something I always think about ❤

  7. Thank you so much, Casey. I am honored. I remember how we connected and how we have kept in touch since then off and on and am so glad that we’re more closely connected now. ♥

  8. I read this a week ago. Congratulations to everybody 🙂

    Purple is actually a beautiful color. It signifies majesty and is often attributed to God 🙂 Seven is considered a perfect number (http://www.biblewheel.com/topics/seven.asp).

    I’m familiar with two blogs, Irene’s and Corinne’s. I’ll check out the others 🙂 Thanks for sharing them.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

