Update on the book


Hello, friends.

I’m sorry posting here has been so sporadic.  I’m trying to focus on retelling the story in a way that I feel would honour Chris and help others, one heck of a challenge. I should probably get all the darker details together so that I can spare myself the feeling of going through it all again, but ultimately, I still have to write it. That will happen, though…it is happening. There’s still a certain sting though, trawling archives to check dates and things, finding comments like ‘It’s a long fight, but I won’t accept defeat…even if I lose the battle.’ (emphasis there is mine)

Anyway, whilst I’m busy telling the story, I’m forgetting the most important bit, it seems. In order to write a book about cyberloss, I need to know what people want to know about it. So, I’m throwing it open. If you have any questions about cyberloss, then please feel free to comment and I’ll write back here. Also, any questions you have will ultimately help shape the information included in the book.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, commemoration, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement, grieving-process, online friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Update on the book

  1. I am a new reader and no clue, but curious to read more.

  2. Casey, I’m not sure that you’re aware that we recently lost a member of our group in a most tragic way – she took her own life. How does one reach out the family in a case like this, when you don’t know them at all? I do know that she left behind a husband and a small child.

    • nikky44 says:

      So sorry Corinne. I remember you mentioned that in one of your posts, but I don’t know who it is. I can’t blame her.

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Corinne.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I am sorry to hear of the loss to your community. I can only go by my experience, obviously, but I used connections within the forum community to contact Chris’ partner. I simply wrote a short message expressing condolence and acknowledging the influence Chris had on my life. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to email.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. nikky44 says:

    I can’t wait to read your book. What I would love to read about is how “real” is this friendship where you most probably never met the person physically. I have to deal a lot with people criticizing me for being so attached and dependent of my online friends. I feel with them, I worry for them. They are my friends regardless of if I met them or not. Losing them is devastating like with any other friend. i would say even more because you don’t have shared memories except the ones you had “online”.

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Nikky.

      Thanks for your comment. The foreword deals with that very topic. ‘You don’t really know them’ is the most hurtful thing people can possibly say, and yet they are prepared to use those words. I agree about the shared memories, which is why I encourage keeping a record of everything.

      Take care,

      Casey

  4. galenpearl says:

    This is a fascinating topic. I had not thought about it so deeply until I read about your project. I look forward to learning more. BTW, I am including my link in the comment because WordPress blocks my linkback sometimes. http://10stepstofindingyourhappyplace.blogspot.com/

  5. Casey, I am with Corinne here…when we lost our internet friend, we were at odd’s end. Everyone felt they wanted to do something for the family, but we really didn’t know her family as we knew her through blogging. What do you do in that type of situation? How would you even go about contacting the family to find out how you could help, and once you find that information out…how do you put it together?

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

