Blogging and friends blog hop: my contribution


Linking into the ‘Blogging and Friends’ blog hop at
and 

I realise that this blog hop deals with blogging and friends, but it’s one I feel compelled to join in with. So, instead of writing exclusively about blogging, I’m going to twist it a bit and write about online community in general.

I’ve been involved with online communities, you could say, since I was thirteen. The first online community I became involved with was the official George Harrison forum. I contributed regularly after taking the plunge and registering in November 2005.

Under the alias SimplyShady74 (taken from my favourite Harrison song at the time and the year it came out – 1974) I shared original poetry and stories and general fan banter with people around the world. One generous individual set a poem I had written commemorating the fourth anniversary of Harrison’s death to music. That won some acclaim among forum members and my real life friends.

Ultimately, it was through the Harrison forum that I came to form my most meaningful online friendship. On February 25th 2006, the forum members held a celebration marking what would have been George Harrison’s 63rd birthday. During that wonderful evening, where fans bantered about our collective favourite subject, a forum moderator offered some virtual banoffee pie. A user posting under the alias Chris Harrison wrote asking what ‘banoffee’ was. I wasn’t sure, but I gave my best guess with these words: ‘Banana and toffee, I think.’

I solved that mystery for her, and she seemed grateful. After a while, we began to communicate via email and instant messaging, as well as on the board. I learned that Chris was facing serious health issues, and joined the community members who were praying for her regularly.

Chris’ illness and passing taught me the value of online community, because we pulled together and supported each other whilst supporting her through her battle. Chris passed away on April 8, 2007. On November 30, 2010, I began this blog, in the hope that others who have experienced the death of an online friend might find some support and comfort here.

_______________________________________________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community, commemoration, online friendship, original-stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blogging and friends blog hop: my contribution

  1. Hi, Casey! ~

    What a unique and interesting theme for a blog-site! Your post is very touching — you get right to the heart of the matter. Looking forward to getting to know you better through posts and comments in our sensational cyber-community! XO

    • Casey B says:

      Thanks, Linda.

      I look forward to reading more from you and hope that you might enjoy whatever you choose to read of my work. 🙂

      Take care,

      Casey

  2. Casey, thank you so very much for joining in our blog hop! I’m happy to be visiting your blog and your post was most interesting. We never seem to know just who is going to be put in our path of life, when, or why. I’m sure your on-line friend was more thankful for you being there than you’ll ever know. Sometimes, just having someone to say ‘good morning’ to, or to say ‘how’s your day going’ can make all the difference in the world. I appreciate you taking the time to share your story with us. I look forward to visiting your blog more now that I know of it ☺

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you for hosting the hop. It’s nice to think that maybe she was. I’d like to think she helped me, in part, to become the person I am today. I know this wouldn’t have happened if not for her.

      Take care,

      Casey

  3. tumultuousjourney says:

    A wonderful read, and a wonderful topic for a blog. I am glad you joined the hop, I will be reading your blog at a later time, happy to meet you. Jan

  4. Casey, you always touch me with your words and your thoughtfulness. I’m certain that you made a big difference to Chris in her last days. Thank you for always sharing so deeply and authentically ♥

  5. Hi Casey 🙂 First and foremost, you have a very unique blog with a very unique purpose. I, myself, never thought that I would be able to establish meaningful and intimate friendships through blogging. We never really know what the future holds and who are the people we are bound to meet and get in touch with. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely friendship with Chris. It is another testimony that online friendships are real and that one doesn’t have to meet another person face to face in order to make an impact in that person’s life.

    Take care and God bless ❤ 🙂

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Irene.

      Thanks very much for taking the time to get in touch. I really appreciate it. It’s a pleasure to share Chris’ story with the world…her impact on my life was very, very real.

      Take care and God bless,

      Casey

  6. Casey, this was a marvelous read. There is truly a need for the type of blog you have created. I sure wish I had such a resource when my husband passed unexpectedly in ’97, but, heavens, the internet was just starting up at that time.
    May you bless others with your comforting words and inspiring thoughts.
    Blessings!

  7. nikky44 says:

    Beautiful story, and very sad too. My dream is to meet my online friends in real life ❤

  8. Hi, Casey. I found your site through the blog hop and I’m glad I did. This is a great post and it goes to show that we can make meaningful connections is so many ways, even online. All the best.

    • Casey B says:

      Thank you, Adrienne.

      It amazes me that so many people use social media so regularly and readily, and yet this discussion is only happening now. I am pleased to be able to honour those connections we make online in this way.

      Best wishes,

      Casey

  9. Bongo says:

    HI Casey…I know we don’t know each other well but I hope through Blogplicity and words we will connect… I wish there was a site like yours years ago when my online fried of 8 years died…I still to this day wish I had met her in person and I still cry… thank you for joining the hop.. I look forward to connecting… As always…..XOXOXOXOXO

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Bonnie.

      It’s a pleasure to connect with you through Blogplicity – I wish I’d known about the community sooner. I am sorry for the loss of your online friend. Those yearnings never really go away. I know how you feel on that front, because I would have loved to meet Chris, but it was enough of an honour to be a small part of her life for a short time in the way that I was.

      XOXO

      Take care,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

