Ways of sharing memories after cyberloss


Hello, friends.

I hope this post finds you well. I’ve written before about the importance of sharing memories after cyberloss – and in this post I’m going to explore a few ways in which you can do that.

One excellent site I’ve found is GriefPost – they’re also in my blogroll to the right, but they’re worth considering again, because you can post anonymously and share anything you may be feeling without fear of attaching your name to it. (Although this site may be triggering in the early stages of grief)

I’m also an advocate of sharing memories within the community that those we’ve lost were a part of. Talk about them and tell their stories – that’s one way in which they can live on.

Another useful resource can be found at findagrave.com – although it is primarily a genealogy website, you can add a memorial to a departed person and leave virtual gifts and messages. For those of us who have experienced cyberloss, it’s a great resource to have.

Keeping memories alive is arguably the most important thing after cyberloss. As with any other type of loss, the way in which you do that is up to you. You may not want to share publicly about your experience, in which case a journal can be useful. (Before I began this blog, I wrote in a journal almost every night.)

What are your favourite ways of keeping their memory alive? Please feel free to share in the comments. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping strategies, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement, online loss issues, online-loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ways of sharing memories after cyberloss

  1. I so wish there had been internet and blogging when my husband, John, passed away in 1997. The support I see in this community now is overwhelmingly positive in so many ways. Thank you for sharing these sites for those who are going through loss.
    Hope you will visit me at http://marthaorlando.blogspot.com.
    Blessings to you!

  2. It’s great that there are resources people can find to deal with their pain. Thank you for sharing, C.

  3. nikky44 says:

    I have a very big problem with the fear of losing the ones I love. I feel happy for them, because I consider them happier where they are now, but I feel so hurt and in such a big pain. What I do is avoid talking about them, looking at their photos or belongings. I wear a mask I hate the one of the person who just doesn’t care. I show everyone that life goes on but inside I’m just dying

    • Casey B says:

      Once more my heart goes out to you, Nikky. Although it seems that you can’t talk about them, it becomes more important that you do. When I can’t talk or write about it, I find that writing a letter and burning it helps. You can then address yourself to them, and depending on your belief system, they’ll be the only one to read it.

      I wish you peace and strength on your difficult journey,

      Casey

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

