100 word song – ‘Waiting on a Friend’


Normal service will resume shortly, but I thought I’d finally give this a go. The following extract was written entirely whilst listening to the Rolling Stones song ‘Waiting on a Friend’, and is my contribution to Lance’s 100-word-song meme.

____________________

These streets are carefree. My mind is full, thinking of her. My smile has slipped a little in the time since we last met. There’s something about this feeling of waiting and watching out for the person I hope will come around the corner. Good conversation is in short supply, but that will be rectified as soon as I see her. Waiting for a friend is the most difficult thing in the world, knowing that they will come, but not knowing when. I rehearse my words, so I am ready, so I don’t waste a single solitary little tiny word.

___________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 100 word song – ‘Waiting on a Friend’

  1. Lance says:

    well done

    I like the economy of words. The first sentence is perfect.

    Thank you for playing 100 word song. I’m honored you wrote this great piece.

  2. It’s never easy to deal when we lose a dear friend, sometimes. That’s amazing writing. And thanks for sharing that great moment.

  3. “I rehearse my words, so I am ready, so I don’t waste a single solitary little tiny word.”
    If only …

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

