NaBloPoMo: Soul Bearing


In a moment of peace, this came. I hope you enjoy it.

Soul Bearing

It’s a recent development
But I have come to be comfortable
With my place in the world, and my different shades of self.

The journey continues
As journeys must, if they are not like some, which conclude too soon.
Too soon for some, anyway – timing is truly everything.

Little details fade, and become distant
The moments which tipped the balance remain in their bizarre glory
Why are we made to remember them above all else?

There are questions that fill in the gaps
Now the immediacy of the experience has diminished
Five years ago feels like five years ago
No longer the bizarre combination of five years ago and five minutes ago
That it had previously been.

Of course, this is this moment
The next moment may be different
But hope has traded places with sorrow
And that is cause for merriment.

__________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in blog community, coping-with-grief, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, original-stuff, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaBloPoMo: Soul Bearing

  1. Thank you for your comforting words on my winding yarn post. And for the uplifting sentiment here that hope can replace sorrow. I have spent the morning in full grieving. Sobbing. Which I haven’t done, as I stave off tears. But am ready to acknowledge that there is deep grief in the act of losing, not just in the final loss.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

