NaBloPoMo: A Mo(u)rning Poem


I decided to take today’s Poetic Asides prompt- ‘write a morning poem’ in a different direction. Mornings have mostly been something to be grateful for, with a couple of notable exceptions. So, without further ado, a mo(u)rning poem.

Mo(u)rning Poem

I wake and toss and turn
So much is the same, but something is different
I am here, and you are absent.

Just because you were a friend I’d never met
it doesn’t mean I loved you any less, and it doesn’t mean I love you any less now.
People assume that to be so, and I don’t know how.

There is a lack of understanding
Which I don’t understand
The circumstances don’t matter
It hurts to lose a friend

The details may be different
You may only know their name
With luck you’ll have a picture
But it is not the same

Cyber-friendship’s distant dream
Is to have the chance to take the time
To share a drink and a chat
A few precious words about this or that

Because we cannot have it all
We learn to make the best of it
And learn from them whilst they are here
Even just a bit.

I lie awake, and something’s gone
It still somehow lingers on
What she taught, I continue to learn

Our friendship still bright flame-like burns.

___________________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, poetry, tribute and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaBloPoMo: A Mo(u)rning Poem

  1. Mike Adams says:

    Casey, I always love your poetry! Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us.

  2. carlia says:

    such beautiful, raw words. this is a beautifully painful poem.

  3. Karen says:

    I have Cyber-friends that I have lost contact with over the years and this poem made me wonder where they are now and what they are doing.

  4. Kristin says:

    Hey there, I’m here from ICLW. Your writing is beautiful. Thanks for your words.

  5. Very heartfelt and beautiful. You have such talent! I hope that by writing it helps you deal with what you are going through! I’ve found it to be a big help over the past year…I wish the same for you!

    Lisa

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

