NaBloPoMo: Passing Judgement


After cleansing myself with yesterday’s poem, I took inspiration from today’s Poetic Asides prompt, which called for a judging poem. (Useful, when that’s what I’m trying not to do with this situation…it’s hard enough to fathom without the subconscious fiery anger and judgement that goes with this territory.) Anyway, here we go – ‘Passing Judgement’.

Passing Judgement

I know I have no right to judge your path
Until I have worn your shoes, and felt your pain.
Your choice was just that – yours,
and maybe it wasn’t even a choice.

I’m still wrapping my head and heart around that
It still weighs heavily, as I affirm my right to forget
The choice I made the day we met
To respect you through all things, and yet…

The path you took still baffles me
And four years on, I struggle to see
What it was that drove you there
To that point, past all care.

I have not walked that jagged path
Though pain is something I have known
I try each day to make my peace
With the fact that you are gone.

________________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anorexia, coping-with-grief, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, original-stuff, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaBloPoMo: Passing Judgement

  1. Arwen Rose says:

    That poem is beautiful, it made me rather weepy at my desk! I too try very hard not to judge other people. I find it easy to judge people whose own easy road to parenthood make my pain seem so much worse, and I know that is wrong.
    Thanks for your kind comment on my blog!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

