Cyberloss and showing your support


Events of a few years ago have been on my mind today. Thinking about those moments in the midst of the process I experienced with both Chris and Kim in which I prayed without really knowing how to pray. I admit now that I’m in a very different faith position to that which I took in 2007, guided as I was by a sense that a loving deity had welcomed Chris back…however misguided that may have been.

Praying in those situations in which someone is gravely ill, or in which it seems so, can be one of the most difficult things about facing the loss of an online friend. After all, prayer and generic ‘good thoughts’ (my MO these days, because I’m still not quite sure where I am with my faith) can often be our only option with online friends.

In Kim’s case, I was fortunate enough to have contact with her family during the times when Kim’s health took a turn for the worse, so I was able to send brief messages of support, assuring them that they were in my thoughts as she was, and they seemed to appreciate that.

So, if you find yourself in a situation where the unthinkable happens, and you have to write a response to an email which has knocked you for six, in my experience the best bet is just that: a few words to say you are thinking of/praying for the person/people concerned, and that you will keep in touch, if you want to add that.

Please feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments. 


Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, memories, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cyberloss and showing your support

  1. Pingback: Sharing your story after cyberloss is important – here’s why | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  2. Pingback: Cyberloss and the fear of forgetting | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

