NaBloPoMo: Something Misunderstood


Today’s prompt comes from Poetic Asides:

“For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Something (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write the poem.”

Given those guidelines, what could I do but write about the situation we have experienced?                                          It was almost too good to be true…so here’s ‘Something Misunderstood’

Something Misunderstood

There are some in this world who don’t understand
What it’s like to ‘lose’ an online friend.
There’s no truth to ‘You didn’t really know them.’
No sense in a wish to brush it under the carpet.

No reason this should hurt any less
No misdeed I need to confess
No secrets kept, no need to guess
Just how I feel about this mess.

But I’ll keep on going while the going’s good
And I’ll fight the fight ‘til it’s understood
It hurts just as much when the story ends
For those of us who’ve lost online friends.

___________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping-with-grief, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, online loss issues, online-loss, original-stuff, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaBloPoMo: Something Misunderstood

  1. sonofwalt says:

    seems I lost one myself recently. I understand.

    • Casey B says:

      I’m very sorry for your loss. Thank you for your comment. Take care, and pop back if you’d like to. It’s unfortunate that these kind of losses are neglected, which makes those of us who’ve had the experience reluctant to seek support through traditional avenues.

  2. Christina says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. My online friends are my world these days, since I don’t have the ability to get out of the house. The loss of any of them would be just as real as the loss of a friend from my “real world” (you know, the ones who trickled away when I became disabled, the ones who never call, never visit). Hugs.

    Thank you for linking up with the Getting to Know You hop!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

