Cyberloss and privacy


How much do you share of the conversations you’ve had with online friends? I admit to quoting occasionally from conversations I had with Chris, the funny things that we shared, the misunderstandings that made me smile, even though I know I shouldn’t have done, because they’re common mistakes among non-native English speakers.

A recent experience with a friend has thrown this issue into the spotlight for me, as I have to wonder whether the person whose words were shared would really have wanted them to be analysed in the way that they were. It could just be me, but I feel that there’s a certain amount of privacy still that ought to be respected. What I discussed with Chris was personal to us, and I would respect anybody who wanted to keep conversations that they’d had with online friends private, if they felt that the person with whom they were conversing would have wished it that way. Either way, it’s an odd situation…I have my reasons for keeping these things private, in the same way as others would have their reasons for sharing them.

Ultimately, of course, any analysis depends on personal perception and sentences can be read and interpreted in an infinite number of ways. The sentence up for discussion was ‘I will soon be well.’

Depending on who you are, and who is speaking, that sentence can have multiple possible meanings beyond the literal. For Chris it might have been literal, but in my view was more likely to be an assurance that she would be well whatever the outcome.

Still, that kind of dissection of a conversation and analysis made me feel rather uncomfortable, so I’d like to put it out there.

How much do you share of the conversations you have had with online friends? Are there situations in which you wouldn’t share something? 

Please feel free to share in the comments.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in Chris, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement, online loss issues, triggers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

