NaBloPoMo: When Grief Takes My Speech


This one has been a work in progress for a week, more or less. Feels right to share it today.

When Grief Takes My Speech

When grief takes my speech

All I ask is that you stand with me

for as long as it takes to come back.

It is not my fault that memories come in

And make it near impossible for me to participate with a smile.

If you can, I’d be honoured if you would remember with me.

If not, do me a favour and sit with me until the storm passes.

I cannot promise anything about the amount of time it will take

But it will pass, and I will return to the world of joy and happiness

From my stroll with sorrow.

I know not where she will take me,

Only that I must go

For she has much to teach

In the moments when grief takes my speech.

_____________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, coping-with-grief, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

