NaBloPoMo: Alternative Endings


A conversation I had last night sowed the seed for this poem. I often catch myself thinking about how things could have been different with Chris, but I know now that I am who I am because of the way those events played themselves out. To change them would be to change me. Anyway, without further ado, here’s the poem:

Alternative Endings

It seems to me that life is full of alternative endings.

Those we wish could be, but can’t.

Those that are, that we can’t change.

I know there are a few I would make instead

But they would then change everything.

Even with my sorrow, I like the person I am now

I am that person because events played themselves out this way.

That is one thing I don’t want to change – and that is the truth.

I am who I am, because of the people around me

And for a short time, I had the pleasure of knowing you.

Thank you for that blessing.

____________________________________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

