NaBloPoMo: Wondering why – grief poetry


This time of year brings me to a strange standstill. Half of me’s caught up in what’s gone before, and that part of me doesn’t want to move on. The other half of me would be only too pleased, but is terrified of forgetting. Leads me down a path that I call ‘what’s the point’. Today’s another double post day, as I wrote one yesterday that I want to share, not in verse this time. Please look out for it later.

What’s the Point

I catch myself wondering where you are
What’s the point? We’re not going to meet any time soon.
I listen to the same music we shared, halfway through
Or until the memories get too much.
What’s the point? We’ll never share it again in the same way.
I try to tell your story, but there comes a point when I can’t speak
That’s when I stop, so…
What’s the point?
All of this, I do out of love for you
Because there’s always a part of me
That wants you back
My wish will never be granted
So that’s the point.
Simply because I want to remember

_______________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

If you can relate to this, or it has moved you in any way, please feel free to leave a comment. I always enjoy reading what people have to say about my work. 

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NaBloPoMo: Wondering why – grief poetry

  1. Beautiful poem. I know what you mean by “what’s the point”, but our memories are what keep the people we love still “alive” and with us. You’re honoring your friend when you remember. *hugs*

  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Understanding | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  3. This touched me deeply. I lost my hubby 6 years ago when most of my friends were just “worried” about turning 40…like that was anything to worry about. I felt that “what’s the point?” feeling often,but as time has gone on it shows up less and less and I honor his memory with smiles. Thanks for sharing your lovely poem.

  4. Veronica says:

    It’s only been a week and a half since I last heard from my friend who I met online. Too complicated to explain our story but we loved each other, I am afraid something had happened to him but then there are many different scenarios that pops in my head every few minutes. That panic feeling fills me up often (I do have an anxiety disorder anyway). I am grieving but must keep a brave face to people around me because no one knows about my friendship/relationship. We have met couple of times and it felt like the world stood still, they were very precious moments we shared, just talking and going for walks but there were soul ties… I know I have to keep living my life but silently grieving can be so overwhelming… I stumbled onto this and I thank you for it. I will keep following it, perhaps it could be my refuge. Your friend Chris was fortunate to have met you who appreciates her so much. Xx

  5. Veronica says:

    The part uour poem that really got me was when you said you listen to music that you shared with her and halfway through sometimes get too much… That is what I do. We shared music, movie scenes that as he called it made mosaic quilts of our lives…
    My song for him was James Taylor’s you can close your eyes… When I listen to it, it cuts deep. We have known each other for about a year but became close in the past few months, short in most people’s eyes but we connected in a level beyond my comprehension. So all in all… I miss him so much that some days I feel like I am going insane. But I will go on keeping beautiful memories I have with him in me. He will always be beautiful even if I am filled with sadness.

    • Casey B says:

      Hi, Veronica.

      I am sorry you find yourself in such a difficult situation. I know what it’s like to worry when you haven’t had contact for a time. You are so very fortunate to have had that time in the same space as him. ‘Silently grieving can be so overwhelming’- heck, yes. That’s why I started this project, just to give myself somewhere to go with it. If I can be of support to others then that’s a bonus. I can relate to knowing somebody for a short while, and becoming close ‘suddenly’. It’s wonderful when you’re that in tune with someone. Thank you for saying that Chris was lucky…I think we were both lucky, I was honoured to be a part of her life, and it was an honour to let her into mine. Thanks for getting in touch.

      Take care, and please come back and let me know how you’re doing,

      Casey

  6. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: No Exact Science – grief poetry | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

