NaBloPoMo: ‘War Zone’


I wrote this last night, just after eleven o’clock…five years on from the moment I received the news. Sleep was ridiculously hard to come by, so I just obeyed the muse and got this one out.

War Zone

Grief is like a war zone
I am doing battle with myself
Waging war within myself
Against memories that will not let me be

Everything is juxtaposed
What I cannot forget, and what I don’t want to lose
It hangs around me like a dense, dark fog
These are the days of the blackest of dogs.

I won’t let it define me
For the rest of my life
I’ll throw off the cloak
With all of my might

The white flag won’t fly
For she taught me to fight
I shall be fierce in battle
Through these April nights.

_____

I am still quietly wishing it were over- this time of year really does knock me off my stride something wicked. But it will be done with soon, and I am sure that I will find peace, even if it is temporary.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

