Tweeting a cancer journey- interesting article.


This just popped up in my Facebook feed via an acquaintance I know through my support of Jack Marshall, a 6-year-old boy from Scunthorpe, England, who battled a brain tumour and sadly passed away in October last year. I debated blogging about it, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it meets the remit of cyberloss because of the content.

I found it quite emotional to read, but what was most striking was the way in which Lee Ann was so articulate in her tweets, even through the heartache that the journey she was on with her husband brought, she took to Twitter as a way to vent her frustration. Makes me wonder whether this kind of tweeting will become more commonplace as generations who are frequent users of social networking technology embrace it even in their darkest hours.

If I or somebody I loved was in that situation, I don’t think I could bring myself to tweet the experience, but I appreciate the need to vent somewhere, obviously. (If I didn’t feel the need to vent, I don’t think this blog would exist.)

Anyway, over to you. Would you tweet an experience like that? Have you known somebody who has? Please feel free to share in the comments. 

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature


About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in coping-with-grief, Grief Loss and Bereavement, In the news, loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tweeting a cancer journey- interesting article.

  1. Pingback: Cyberloss and privacy | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

  2. Pingback: Cyberloss, grief, memories and choices | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

