Recalling the beginning of my grief journey


Here Comes the Sun

Here Comes the Sun (Photo credit: Tim Lee Photographic Art)

Today marks five years exactly since I first heard the news that Chris was going to die. I remember it still as though it were yesterday. Hearing George Harrison sing Here Comes the Sun, trying to reassure myself that it was going to be alright. Later on, having a hot drink and barely being able to hold the cup.

How this journey began 

Five years ago exactly
At eleven o’clock tonight
I paced the floor to the terrible news
That my dear friend was approaching the light.

To this day, I’m not sure how
I ever got this far
I sometimes sit and wonder
Just where it is you are

My memories won’t let me be
Though I want to forget
There must be some deeper reason
Why I can’t get there yet.

It’s not that I don’t love you
So please don’t ever think that
I’m not sure where I want to be
Or where this leaves me at.

I’m hoping to one day move on
With your memory safe in my heart
One sweet day I’ll think of you
With a smile and not a start.

________

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, NaBloPoMo, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

