Grief poetry: ‘This is Easter’


This one came to me last night. Luckily I’d not settled down for the night, because as much as I like writing poetry, I’m not a big fan when I should be trying to sleep. Anyway, here we are, with apologies to John Lennon, from whom I may have pinched and altered a title.

This is Easter

It’s that time of year again
Even without looking at a calendar I know
There’s not a bone in my body that doesn’t remember

When I do look at the displays in shops
It rams it home – Easter all around
Chocolate and joy for many, even for me, fleetingly

But this is that time of year
And she is everywhere, still
But here.

It is true that the good memories
Don’t choke me as they once did
But that last week does more than enough
Leaves me floundering, that kind of stuff.

I’m not quite sure where it came from, even though the thoughts seem to be following me around lately. I shall be glad when Easter is over and done with, so I can get back to thinking about Chris in a normal way.

From the first of April, I will be participating in NaBloPoMo and therefore hopefully committing to a poem a day, which I will post here.  However, that does not mean that the goal of this blog falls by the wayside. You are as ever invited to contribute and remember those that you’ve known and loved.

Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys,

 blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, Grief Loss and Bereavement, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

