Trying to trust balance in grief


There are no two ways about it in grief, anniversaries are difficult. Well, ‘difficult’ is putting it mildly. If you’re anything like me, I know what you’re thinking after reading that sentence. Anniversaries suck. I’m in two minds at the moment, because I’m feeling relatively OK. Deceptively so. Times like this I catch myself wondering just how long it’s going to last. I have a nagging feeling that it’s not going to stay with me for the duration of this period, but I’m loath to say that, just in case it’s self-fulfilling prophecy. Last thing I want to do is shoot myself in the foot with regard to the coming difficulties. But then, I wonder whether I’m putting too much stock in the way I’m thinking about this. Surely the way we think about things isn’t the be all and end all?

Do you find yourself monitoring your thoughts in the run-up to anniversaries? Is there anything you do or try not to do when they are around the corner? Please feel free to share in the comments.


Wishing you peace and strength on your journeys, as always,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, coping-with-grief, Grief Loss and Bereavement, trigger dates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying to trust balance in grief

  1. Lynn says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Casey! I know exactly what you mean about trigger dates. For me, although it’s not the anniversary of his death, my dad’s birthday is coming up next month. It’s the first of his birthdays since he passed away and I know it’s going to be a terribly difficult day to get through. I just hope I can get through it without breaking down. I’ll be back to visit you soon!

  2. deathstar44 says:

    ICLW #90

    thanks for dropping by, Casey. And thanks for hosting a sacred space for those who are in need.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

