Making something new out of grief


I think I’m getting better at finding out what works for me when grieving. Origami still represents one of the best ways for me to work through this, and writing is good when I can put it into words. But I’m in the midst of a debate with myself and, now I’m posting this here, obviously with the world at large. I have a habit of recording these things in ornate notebooks. I don’t know whether that’s the best idea, because if there ever comes a day when I want to burn these things, then I don’t know whether I’ll be able to do it in good conscience. I’m going to keep working on transforming this experience for the good, and all will be well once the Easter period is over (or that’s what I keep telling myself.) These societal milestones are weird and intrusive, but I think that’s another post. For now I’ll just leave you with one of the ways I’ve been ‘processing’ lately:

origami butterfly

An origami butterfly

Wishing you all peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, commemoration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making something new out of grief

  1. Trisha says:

    That is beautiful. I’m glad you have some way to work through things. The most important thing is to find something important to you 🙂

    ICLW #61

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

