Grief poetry: ‘The Coat’


Seemed like the right time to share this, as the coat’s come out again. The Easter feeling is early, as I’ve said before. This is an older poem (written last month, but not posted ’til now) which still reflects some of ‘those’ feelings.

 The Coat


I wear it like an overcoat, 
Escaping definition, it eludes me still

I have owned this coat for five years
I used to wear it every day

But I don’t any more – I carry it 
With me as a mark of who I’ve been

I’m no longer that person 
But still I keep the coat

I guess I bought it when I met you. 
You didn’t like it, said it didn’t suit me. 

Still, I’ve kept the coat
I knew I’d wear it one day

Grudgingly I shrugged it on
Four Easters ago. 

Maybe this year, I’ll ditch the coat. 
It’s not the coat that holds the memories 

they’re part of me, though my mind 
had until recently locked the door

Now I’ve found the key. 

Wishing you all peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, coping-with-grief, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grief poetry: ‘The Coat’

  1. Jessie says:

    Wow, that’s a really good analogy and a beautiful poem!

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

