Photographic grief triggers


I know that this time of year is a nightmare for me, and as such, I’m just quietly waiting for it to be over…but then there are the little things that I didn’t bank on. I was looking at one of my favourite photos of Chris, and found myself suddenly drawn to the date in the bottom right hand corner. Took a long time and a lot of convincing for me to realise that it wasn’t taken on the 30th of March, 2007. I have no idea why I thought it was, but I suppose it wasn’t entirely clear from the photo. That wasn’t the worst bit, though…that honour goes to the panic that set in the minute I looked at the date and thought it might have been that. Horrible, horrible moment, heart pounding, really anxious feeling. I don’t know why I put myself through it. I guess I’ll have to try to forget about it and move on.

What do you do when you’ve ‘overdone it’ thinking about them? I’d love to hear your suggestions for getting back to ‘normal’ in the comments. 


Wishing you all peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, commemoration, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

