Humour in grief: a Mother’s Day related memory of Chris


Here in the UK, today is Mothering Sunday. Although it falls in October in Argentina, I feel like sharing one of my favourite memories which relates to it. I remember it well because it’s one of the first ones I think of when I feel the need to access one of the good memories, as difficult as that is at this time of year. Chris posted on the forum gleefully after the event, because her husband and her kids had clubbed together to get her a CD player, so she could listen to George’s music when she wanted. As sweet as that is, it’s not what makes me laugh five years later, that honour goes to her response when somebody posted and remarked that she must love it: ‘You have no idea how much I missed George’s music. Now I can play it very close to my ears!’ There were many more funny moments, which I will share over the next few weeks, as I begin to retell the story of Chris’ last few days. I look forward to sharing this journey with you.

What are some of your favourite memories of your online friends? Were there moments that made you laugh out loud? Please feel free to share in the comments. 


Wishing you all peace and strength on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, Chris, cyberloss, Grief Loss and Bereavement, memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

