Approaching Easter, oncoming grief…


Listening to Billy Joel as I write this. ‘The River of Dreams’ always tends to make a lot of sense at this time, and ‘You May Be Right’ is also good to pull me out of this mood. Much as I’ve learned to tolerate this feeling, and the only thing that’s new this year is the actual timing of it, it’s still irritating to be in a situation where I know I have control, but the large posters which reiterate the time of year won’t let me forget. Logically, I get it. A time of year that the rest of the world associates with chocolate and joy will probably always be tainted for me because of the timing of Chris’ passing, which I know was purely coincidental. It’s just that this time of year has a particular way of bringing me to my knees. I’m sure I’m not the only one, and there are surely other people who have particularly difficult times of the year all year ’round, but this is a particular type of hell, if you’ll excuse the pun.

Anyway, over to you – how do you approach these anniversaries, and what helps you get through them? I’d love to hear some of your thoughts.

Wishing you strength and peace on your journeys,

blog signature

About Casey Bottono

I am in love with language. I write poetry and fiction in a wide variety of genres. Most recently, I have been shortlisted as a finalist in the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities' Pen2Paper contest.
This entry was posted in anniversaries, anticipation, Chris, coping-with-grief, cyberloss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Approaching Easter, oncoming grief…

  1. Pingback: Trying to trust balance in grief | Navigating Cyberloss: a place to share your grief

I love it when you share your thoughts- so feel free.

